Quickest veg stir-fry with Za’atar

September 4, 2009 at 6:37 am 2 comments

I tried Za’atar in Kuwait and I fell in love with that stuff. It’s a mix spice with a lot of stuff in it; mint, sesame seeds, oregano, sumaah, thyme, marjoram and a lot of other stuff I can’t figure out. Lucky for me I don’t need to.

I’ve bought enough Za’atar to last for a really long time (smart thinking)  But if you can’t get your hands on some of this stuff, then you can try making your own. That link seems to have covered it.

There’s really not much to talk about this recipe. Make it and you shall know.

What you need:

1 red onion

1 ts of ginger + garlic paste and more garlic if you will

about 250  Mix vegetables, or whatever you want to stir fry

2tbs  Za’atar

40gm cottage cheese/paneer/tofu

salt as per your taste-buds (or dietary requirements)

1 tbs (good quality) oyster sauce

20gm of grated processed cheese (optnl)

1 tsp oil

What to do:

1. Saute veggies in oil, starting with onions, ginger garlic paste and the harder veggies progressing to the softer ones. Throw in the paneer/tofu/cottage cheese

2. Add salt, oyster sauce and Za’atar. Cover and cook on a low flame for about 7 minutes or so.

3. Cover with processed cheese. Dig in.

I used mix veggies from a pack. So easy.

Frozen cubed paneer? Awesome, no chopping required.

My new comfort food? Definitely.

A bowl of this stuff would make me really comfortable right now.

Entry filed under: Easy, Healthy, Low calorie, Low fat, Quick, Soy, Vegetarian. Tags: .

hard working cook, lazy blogger Ras Malai: Best + easiest ever!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Avanika (Yumsilicious Bakes)  |  September 5, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    I love za’atar!! And you’ve incorporated it so well in this recipe! I’ve never seen that assorted veggies pack before! Hypercity, right? All this stuff suddenly becoming available to us, and popping up in so many places, just never ceases to amaze me! Today I was surprised to find butterscotch chips in a shop!!

    Reply
  • 2. Simran  |  September 6, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    That’s quick and easy…I love za’atar!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email me

Hi everyone you can email me at oneofagrind{at}gmail{dot}com

Subscirbe

I heart FeedBurner

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Flickr Photos

DSC06400

DSC06398

DSC04412

More Photos

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

