Ras Malai: Best + easiest ever!

September 11, 2009 at 7:13 am 6 comments

Literal translation: Liquid Cream.

Actually it has nothing to do with cream and it definitely has nothing to do with liquid cream or even liquid + cream. It’s just an absurd name- if you make it my way!

Ras malai is a traditional Indian sweet, originating from West Bengal. God I love the Bengalis for having invented this. It’s my favourite dessert ever.

These tiny balls of cottage cheese are soaked in a creamy milk and sugar and eaten with the milk.

It’s a tricky and complicated recipe BUT this version (handed down by my aunt) is easy, breezy and beautiful (yes it’s a cover-worthy dessert)

What you need:

For the Malai: Creamy balls

1 cup of Nido milk powder (or any other brand)

1 egg

1 + 1/2 tsp baking powder

For the Ras: Milk Syrup

1lt milk

1/2 can unsweetened evaporated milk

1/2 cup sugar

Saffron strands

1 tsp cardamom powder

What to do:

1. Make Ras. Boil everything together and make sure that the flame is med, do not let it burn!

2. Make the malai. Sift the milk powder with baking powder, beat in the egg and knead to form a sticky dough. You may be tempted to add water, but resist the temptation. Form tiny balls (they will swell)

3. Put the balls in the boiling milk and simmer for 15-20 minutes till balls swell up and are soft in the centre.

4. Cool and serve nice and cold.

The balls can be flattened- the more traditional shape.

Good example of Watermark gone awry.

Entry filed under: Dairy, Desserts, Easy, Eggs, Low fat, Quick, Rich. Tags: .

Quickest veg stir-fry with Za’atar No bake lemon yogurt tart/pudding/cassata

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Avanika (Yumsilicious Bakes)  |  September 12, 2009 at 9:49 am

    I love Ras Malai!! Its great that you make Indian sweets too, for all the sweet baking I do, I haven’t yet made any Indian sweet, on my own!! I think it’s time I learn!! I wish I had some of this to motivate me :P :P

    BTW, where did you find evaporated milk?

    Reply
    • 2. hana  |  April 2, 2012 at 2:09 pm

      best of luck

      Reply
  • 3. The Purple Foodie  |  September 12, 2009 at 9:52 am

    I have never tried making ras malai on my own. This looks too good not to try.

    Reply
  • 4. deeba  |  September 12, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Look absolutely delicious…never tried making them at home. YUM!

    Reply
  • 5. plutosangel  |  September 13, 2009 at 3:03 am

    @ Avanika: Actually I bought some from kuwait :P the brand was Almarai. Its really just a fancy-shmancy name for unsweetened rabdi! you can get a pack of really fresh and thick rabdi from punjab sindh dairy and it keeps it all the more ‘indian’ but if you want it in a can I’m sure you can get your hands on a Nestle Carnation at Alfa or just use Nestle Milkmaid and omit the sugar :D

    @Shaheen, Deeba : thanks girlies! :)

    Reply
  • 6. anita  |  October 23, 2011 at 7:44 am

    hey tat sounds great n delicious 2 , wld love to make them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email me

Hi everyone you can email me at oneofagrind{at}gmail{dot}com

Subscirbe

I heart FeedBurner

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Flickr Photos

DSC06400

DSC06398

DSC04412

More Photos

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

