Baked Potato Wedges

September 29, 2009 at 12:26 pm 3 comments

Some days you just need it. Quick carbs that is.

I had seen this interesting recipe by the purple foodie which she had adapted from lottie + doof to get a stronger garlic flavour.

I like love garlic but 8 cloves of them? too much for me! but still I loved the whole idea of baking them and she seemed so elated with the results I just had to try the technique.

It was a smashing success! fantastic fries I absolutely loved them!

However I did change the recipe quite a bit;

  • I added a tablespoon of tomato soup powder – gave a great tangy tomato flavour
  • reduced the garlic to 3 cloves
  • used tapioca instead of cornflour – I prefer tapioca, it binds way better and faster than cornflour
  • Increased the quantity of potatoes greatly! used 7 medium sized ones without altering the proportion of any of the ingredients- perfect proportions.

The best part is, I could salvage almost 3 tbs of oil post baking! so not much really went into 7 whole potatoes. This was brilliant.

So thats it! great, great, great stuff! I totally recommend it to everyone who loves fries and has an oven. Seriously.

You can check out  the purple foodie or lottie + doof for the detailed recipe and techinque follow whichever version you prefer.

Honestly, didn’t need the kitchen paper to drain :D

Entry filed under: Appetizers, Baking, Carbs, Low fat, Vegan, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , .

No bake lemon yogurt tart/pudding/cassata

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Purple Foodie  |  September 30, 2009 at 11:46 am

    OMG your wedges look sooo good! Now you’ve tempted me to make these again.

    I have to try tapioca flour. what else do you use it for? Why do you like it more?

    Reply
  • 2. Ankit  |  January 13, 2010 at 7:36 am

    Cant believe they are baked! They look so good. Man!!
    I envy Sanaa!
    Can we exchange Sanaa with you??

    PS- I am a colleague of Sanaa.

    Reply
    • 3. plutosangel  |  January 16, 2010 at 3:52 pm

      Thanks! They tasted even better!
      Sanaa’s one lucky bhukkad.
      Yes I’d fancy an exchange! how much do you pay? :P

      PS: I’ve heard a lot about you and your affinity for cows :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email me

Hi everyone you can email me at oneofagrind{at}gmail{dot}com

Subscirbe

I heart FeedBurner

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Flickr Photos

DSC06400

DSC06398

DSC04412

More Photos

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

