REALLY Low Fat Strawberry Cheesecake

November 18, 2008 at 9:52 am 5 comments

I’ve been really trying to cut down on the calories but It’s so hard to do with my sweet tooth. I almost always crave for dessert. I often just chew on fruits to curb my sugar attack but today I needed something more.

I made a cheesecake. You must think I must be totally out of my head to even consider that a term that contains the words “Cheese” and “Cake” could ever be low fat. I’m here to prove you wrong. I made a Strawberry Cheesecake without cheese and strawberries.

What you need:

1 package strawberry flavored low-fat, sugar-free pudding mix. [One that asks you to mix 750 ml (3cups) to it]
1 cup of low-fat yogurt, hung for 2-3 hours or just use a really creamy variety without the hanging
1 cup of muesli
1 tbs melted butter or yogurt whey
1 tbs powdered gelatin
1 bar strawberry fruit bar (optional)

What you need to do:

1. Prepare pudding as per instructions only one major modification: reduce the 750 ml(3cups) of milk to 500(2cups) ml of milk. You need to get a really thick and extra sweet pudding. Leave aside to cool.

2. Crush the muesli in a bowl and pour melted butter or whey (makes it slightly soggy but if your really cutting down this is the way to go) and line in a clip cake tin or quiche tin. Freeze for 10 minutes.

3. Puree the cooled pudding with the yogurt and pour into a mixing bowl.

4. Dissolve gelatin in hot water and pour into the pudding mix, stir vigorously. Pour over muesli lined tin. Refrigerate for 2-3 hours till firm and set.

5. Cut pieces of the strawberry bar for garnish.(optional)

6. Cut into REALLY large slices and enjoy; you can afford to!

The pudding should look this thick:

q-DSC02084

And that’s the final cheesecake:

q-DSC02094

q-DSC02104

q-DSC02105

Entry filed under: Easy, Healthy, Low calorie, Low fat, Quick.

Stuffed Chicken Steaks with Coconut Sauce Super Easy Ice Cream Cake

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bluepolka  |  November 18, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    yum man ! and the best part is?? unlike the others here….I GET TO TASTE IT….LEMME AT IT

    Reply
  • 2. Disha  |  November 18, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Wen r u inviting me at ur place yaar i am ready to come. By the way i liked the cake ka look. Must be really yummy. U can make strawbeery cake, tofu ke bhujias and tat fruitsalad for me anythng new will also be welcomed.
    Bol kab aaoooooo….

    Reply
  • 3. Shaheen (Coco)  |  November 18, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    Aalia, your stuff looks amazing. Sanaa is just raving about it and I feel like grabbing a slice. Now there are two reasons why I want Sanaa to come back to this side of town.

    I don’t know why but I’ve always been averse to stuff made with gelatin. Reminds me of chinagrass halwa my nani makes (good to have, but only occasionally). But I need to research a bit more on this and see where it takes me.

    Reply
  • 4. plutosangel  |  November 19, 2008 at 2:06 am

    @Disha: Thanks Disha! I’m really flattered. Kabhi bhi aa jao.. just tell me when and I’ll cook up something good! 🙂

    @Shaheen: Thanks Shaheen. Yes I agree Gelatin does make it a bit like Chinagrass pudding but if you use it in small quantities u can avoid that from happening. However I admit since I tried to make this so low fat, it turned out quite firm but if you want a creamier finish its a good idea to substitute the yogurt with a cup of whipped cream and it would taste just like a regular cheesecake. But then you may need a bit more gelatin to hold it together.

    About the Cake Stand; yes it is a cake stand and I got it real cheap! believe it or not, the American Dollar Store(Nirmal Lifestyle Mulund, phoenix mills etc)is excellent for cheap crockery. I got this one from there.

    Reply
  • 5. Haley  |  December 3, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Hello! I just found your blog and love it! You have so many amazing recipes, and they are all so creative!!

    I would love to write about this cheesecake on our blog! If you are interested send me an email at: haley@keyingredient.com

    Thanks!
    Haley, KI Blogger

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email me

Hi everyone you can email me at oneofagrind{at}gmail{dot}com

Subscirbe

I heart FeedBurner

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Flickr Photos

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


