Homemade Strawberry and Plum Pop-tarts

January 10, 2009 at 9:02 am 3 comments

Shaheen @ The purple foodie made these wonderful strawberry pop-tarts a couple of days back and I just had to make them! Unfortunately for me, I had no strawberry jam, but I did have some plum preserve which  used as a substitute.

It was a real winner!! perfect perfect! the other big change I made was use whole flour instead of plain flour.

poptart1

mmmmm

I had a bit of an oozing problem though… the filling just kept oozing out.. but thats OK.. just took a while to clean up my baking sheet 😛 

poptart2

I love the Strawberry 😀

Thanks for sharing this one Shaheen 🙂
Entry filed under: Baking, Desserts, Fruits.

Reduced fat apple filled bread Organic, vegan, low fat, paper thin PIZZA!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yasmeen  |  January 10, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Scrumptious ! my kiddos would absolutely love these:)

    Reply
  • 2. ThePurpleFoodie  |  January 10, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    You made these already! You’re quick! The strawberry looks gorgeous. I’m quite curious about how things turn out when you use whole wheat instead of all purpose flour?

    Reply
  • 3. plutosangel  |  January 10, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    @Yasmeen: and you will too! 🙂

    @Shaheen:I had a pack of strawberries in the refrigerator and I thought: what the heck? :P.. besides this is really the best time to get the best, freshest strawberries.

    Well I try using whole flour as far as I can there is a difference in the result though.. all purpose is more elastic while whole isn’t… if you bake a cake or bread using whole it doesn’t rise that much… while all purpose rises a LOT.. so you may have to add a little more baking soda/powder/yeast in the case of whole.. but I don’t mind doing that rather than having that fiber-less stuff stick to my gut.. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email me

Hi everyone you can email me at oneofagrind{at}gmail{dot}com

Subscirbe

I heart FeedBurner

Follow Me on Twitter

Categories

Flickr Photos

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


