Fruit, Nut and Grain bars/whatchamacallit

April 24, 2009 at 5:00 am 1 comment

I absolutely love experimenting with oats. The other day I wanted a quick fix. something oat-ey and nutty and fruity but please not a boring bowl of oatmeal.

Whenever I experiment, I simply just keep going and letting things happen rather than actually thinking about what I want to eat.

Thus was born the oat, fruit, nut and grain bars/whatchamacallit. These are very crunchy and  chunky and really good.

What you need:

2 cups of quick cook oats

2 tsp of powdered flax seed (optn)

1 large ripe banana

1 tbs butter

1/4 cup of mixed sliced nuts

1/4 cup of raisins and other dry fruit

Sugar/honey as per your taste

1 pinch of salt

 

What you need to do:

  • Preheat oven to 150 C /300 F
  • Finely powder one cup of the oats
  • puree the banana
  • mix all the ingredients together
  • add just a bit of water if too clumpy (not too much)
  • press mix onto oiled baking sheet
  • bake for 30  minutes till dry and flaky.

 

Gr8 with sliced banana or just crushed into yoghurt or milk.

Entry filed under: Baking, Breakfast, D.I.Y, Easy, Healthy, Low fat.

A dangerous birthday Entry for Tasty tools: Muffin Tins

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  April 28, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    Mmm… I’d love some of this on my yogurt!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email me

Hi everyone you can email me at oneofagrind{at}gmail{dot}com

Subscirbe

I heart FeedBurner

Follow Me on Twitter

Categories

Flickr Photos

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


