Bendy Straw Mango Smootie

May 26, 2009 at 12:00 am 1 comment

The best part about Summer is the Mango of course. The Alphonso Mango to be more specific. 

The Mango Season is almost like a festival one to be prolonged and savoured without bothering about trivial obstacles like weight loss or diabetes. My dear (severely diabetic) grandmother bought 6 dozen of these crimson shells of happiness. 

For most of the part, we just eat them whole: It really is nonpareil in it’s natural form. But what harm is it to smootie it or to aamras it or to tart it or cheesecake is?

And there certainly is no harm in eating it for breakfast.

A couple of days back I twittered  about the boredom in breakfast dishes. I take that back. If mangoes were to be my daily morning fix; so be it. 

As though the idea of gulping thick sweet crimson mango flesh wasn’t good enough, I added a bendy straw for additional joy. Of course I’ve always known and used straws but my awareness towards bendy straws arose from an episode of ugly betty (believe it or not). Well what can I say about the power of suggestion, we had the straws at home in a week.

I don’t know what it is about bending a plastic straw toward my face that gives me immense comfort and joy, really.

 

Bendy Straw Mango Smoothie

What you need:

1 ripe mango (pref alphonso)

1/4 cup milk

4-5 ice cubes

1 bendy straw 

 

What to do:

1. Blend the mango, milk and ice cubes.

2. Pour into a glass and place your bendy straw in a strategic position (the way you like it) Drink up the crimson joy.

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Dairy, Easy, Fruits, Quick, Vegetarian.

Top ten Food-related memories Baked again: Red Hot Velvet Cake with Cinnamon Buttercream

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. carri  |  June 9, 2009 at 3:42 am

    Love love love the smoothie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email me

Hi everyone you can email me at oneofagrind{at}gmail{dot}com

Subscirbe

I heart FeedBurner

Follow Me on Twitter

Categories

Flickr Photos

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


