Glucose, Sucrose, Lactose, Fructose…(My books are here!)

July 3, 2009 at 7:29 am 9 comments

That was the title of the last email that Tapas from flipkart sent me.

If you are totally clueless about anything in this post, let me explain in brief (or click here for the full story). A month back, I was frustrated with my excessive sugar consumption and decided to do something about it. I put myself on a “Sugar free Challenge” for a month and promised my own self that I would buy two books as a treat if I stuck with my challenge for the whole month. The two books were linked to www.flipkart.com. Now Flipkart.com is this great online bookstore based in India with virtually every book under the sun available on it and I recently discovered it. So Tapas from Flipkart graciously offered to sponsor my challenge! yes he actually did that! πŸ™‚

So we’ve been exchanging emails over the past one month, checking on my progress. His hilarious emails always crack me up!

I opened my mailbox this morning and saw a new email from Tapas. I just started replying when the door bell rang. Any guesses people?

I was handed a neat cardboard box with flipkart printed in loop all over it. Talk about perfect timing πŸ˜€

I don’t know how I even managed to click a photo of the carton because I was DYING to rip it open!

Once I DID rip it open I started clicking photos right away.. even before I could remove the plastic cover!

So my books are here! πŸ˜€

Ahh!! I still can’t believe it! Molecular gastronomy.. (I could cry with happiness like right now)

and Small Batch baking! (something tells me I’m going to read this one first ;))

More publicity shots of my Bee-auti-ful books.

So this past one Β month has been AWESOME…

Thank you sooo much Tapas and Flipkart.. this has been absolutely wonderful! πŸ˜€ (I’m really at a loss of words :))

Entry filed under: 30 Day No Sugar Challenge, Not about cooking.

June Top Tens: Blog Envy + Mushroom and Red Cabbage Momos Miniature Pancakes

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Purple Foodie  |  July 3, 2009 at 7:43 am

    WOW congratulations πŸ˜€ would like to know you you find the molecular gastronomy book…

    Reply
  • 2. Simran  |  July 3, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Congratulations on completing the challenge. Tell me how the molecular gastronomy book is – I can’t decide whether to buy that one.

    Reply
  • 3. plutosangel  |  July 4, 2009 at 2:55 am

    Hey thanks guys! πŸ˜€ I’ve just read chapter one it’s really interesting. let you know how it turns out! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Jeskra  |  July 4, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    I’m waiting for my Small Batch to arrive from flipkart…. very impatiently, too! Did you like it?

    Reply
    • 5. plutosangel  |  July 4, 2009 at 7:01 pm

      it’s a great book! It’s got sooo many recipes I don’t think I’ll ever need to make a large batch again! the only thing I was a little sad about was that the book has no pictures at all… except for the ones on the cover.. I’m a sucker for a pretty picture!
      But hey it’s a great book otherwise. Thanks for stopping by:)

      Reply
  • 6. raj  |  July 5, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    damn! i can’t believe someone bought you books!! sigh.. why cant the people i know be more like that??
    how’s the molecular gastronomy book so far?

    Reply
  • 7. flashplayer  |  July 6, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Great post!

    Reply
  • 8. deeba  |  July 8, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    That’s just too too AWESOME!!! Do you think I have hope for something like this. This is FLIPPING good stuff my dear. I am thilled for you. Get baking QUICK….I want to read the book with you!

    Reply
  • 9. s  |  September 7, 2009 at 9:59 am

    lovely pics

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email me

Hi everyone you can email me at oneofagrind{at}gmail{dot}com

Subscirbe

I heart FeedBurner

Follow Me on Twitter

Categories

Flickr Photos

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


