Holiday in Kuwait Part 1

August 7, 2009 at 5:42 pm 4 comments

I’ve been off twitter and haven’t blogged in a while and I truly apologize for it! but I’ve got so much stuff to tell you about it might take a while to tell you all about the fantastic/foodastic time I spent in the City/State of Kuwait.

2 months back on yahoo messenger a convo with my uncle in Kuwait went something like this:

Uncle: I want you to book tickets to make your stay last at least a month.

Me: A month?? you mean 30 days?? But mamu (that’s what I call my uncle) that’s too long! I’ve got a pile of work to do, a ton of exams to give so much other stuff I’m swamped! hows does 2 weeks sound?

Uncle: 2 weeks will just fly by! trust me you have no idea!

Me: (thinking: err the whole Country is about the size of my city, Mumbai… how long will it take to see?) Err Ok mamu, lets meet halfway.. how does 3 weeks sound?

Uncle: It’s still short but as you wish!

Well I was proved wrong. Really wrong. Kuwait was awesome… a ton of places to see a ton of food to try and I went crazy! It’s a small country with a lot of style and a lot of food. I came back with 10 gigs of photo memory (a sizable chunk comprising of food+me eating it).

The entire holiday went by so fast and I have a blurry collection of images in my head (thank God for digital cameras)

Where do I start? from the start perhaps..

It was a short flight; 4 and half hours, night flight + economy ticket = get your own food! but the view was pretty satisfying.

Leaving home…

This was when we were flying over Daman. It was something like 5.30 am

By the time we reached the Kuwait it was 45.C and the hot desert sun showed no mercy. We needed nourishment! motadella and egyptian cheese.

A teaspoon tablespoon of Labneh and some stuffed olives thrown in and it didn’t take long for it to become my daily fix.

Shopping! This is Avenues, it’s the largest mall in Kuwait. It’s freakishly big.. we spent eight hours in there and barely covered one section of it!

I spent a lot of time in supermarkets and really did a lot of research on different types of spices and local ingredients.

And not to forget the awesome yet not so traditional things.. cool tools at Ikea.

Traditional food converted into fast food? we’ll this is  supposed to be Shawarma, but it’s in a bread roll.. verdict: delicious.

I think one of the highlights of the trip was the visit to the Kuwait towers. I mean just look them!

The biggest tower is the viewing one and you can see the entire city from up there..

But probably the best part of the Kuwait towers is the complementary ice-cream with the entry ticket… and you can’t eat ice-cream alone…

Then there was the day we spent on the beach.. seaweed (not edible but so pretty)

Followed by  a barbecue.. (totally edible)

Failaka island was beautiful.. nothing much to do there though… a lot of ruins from the war.

The hot desert sun made me really hungry. Well I just reached out for a quick snack… a word of advice: unripe dates aren’t particularly palatable.

There’s a lot more!

I’ve barely scraped the surface of my foodie escapades..but I’d like to break it down for you to digest! this was just part1.

Entry filed under: Foodlogues. Tags: , , , , .

Oyster Sauce Stuffed Mushrooms Holiday in Kuwait part 2

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Purple Foodie  |  August 10, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Can’t wait for part 2 and part 3! 😀 What did you buy from Ikea? How i wish they come to India.

    Reply
  • 2. plutosangel  |  August 11, 2009 at 3:59 am

    OoO lots of stuff! I got this cool hand held whisk.. the one nigella always uses.. its soo cool! then I got a couple of cooking pots, some nonstick cooking spoons etc etc. And we did buy a lot of weird non-foodie stuff.. a Standing shoehorn (??!!), a paper napkin holder that clips the paper napkins together…I heard they were going to start an outlet in India soon.. I hope it Mumbai first!

    Reply
  • 3. ramaroo  |  September 28, 2009 at 10:35 am

    I’m a Kuwaiti and I’m so glad you had fun in my country 🙂
    It seems you had a good guide (your uncle) as you know where to go for fun 😉 You even went to a place I have never been too, Failaka island 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. plutosangel  |  September 29, 2009 at 5:08 am

      Oh you are a Kuwaiti! Thank you for having me in your country! 🙂

      People always talk about Dubai being the ‘IT’ place to visit in the middle east but few people know about things you can do in Kuwait (I used to be one of those people!).. I wanted people to know about how lovely the place is in these few blog posts 😀

      Failaka Island is really for hardcore history buffs. The ferry ride is fun though.
      Thanks for all your kind comments 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email me

Hi everyone you can email me at oneofagrind{at}gmail{dot}com

Subscirbe

I heart FeedBurner

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Flickr Photos

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


