hard working cook, lazy blogger

August 28, 2009 at 6:05 am 2 comments

Writing a blog is hard work. Ever so often I find my self cooking away or even clicking away but never get the patience to blog about any of it.

I’m going to be reall-ly busy the next one month, it’s Ramadan plus I will be studying like a crazy nut (or at least I should be!) for all the damned exams that I have to give. I’m quite addicted to social networking and useless browsing so I might even unplug my Internet for the month (yikes!)

So I’m scheduling a couple of posts. hopefully you wont miss me too much 😛

Ohh here’s the Cinnamon french toast with poached caramel flavoured apples that I turned out the other day. Ok Ok so I couldn’t resist. I took a bite before I could click the pic, trust me- you would do the same.

Cinnamon toast + poached apple

What you need:

for the french toast:

1 egg

2 slices of white bread

1/2 tsp cinnamon powder

2 tsp sugar

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 cup cold milk

For the poached apples

1 red apple; peeled, cored and sliced(whichever type)

1 small cinnamon stick

3 tbs sugar

1 cup water

1/2 tsp lemon juice

What to do:

1. Make the poached apples. Caramelize 3tbs of sugar in a saucepan and pour a cup of water once caramelized. Reduce heat.

2. Put the lemon juice, cinnamon and apple slices in the saucepan and cook covered for 15 minutes till done.

3. Make the french toast. Beat eggs, cinnamon, sugar, salt and milk. Dip slices of bread and fry in a non stick pan till golden brown on both sides.

4. Serve both together. Pour some of the caramel liquid over the apples and the toast. YUM!

I sat down on my pretty little (new!) carpet to enjoy this massive breakfast. ahh soft soft carpet.

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Easy, Eggs, Fruits, Quick, Rich.

Holiday in Kuwait Part 3 (the last one) Quickest veg stir-fry with Za’atar

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Purple Foodie  |  September 2, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Poached apples look great! I think i’m going to try poached pears this season.

    Reply
  • 2. Lan  |  September 8, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    good luck with your studies!

    i adore cinnamon toast, it reminds me of my grandfather. and pairing it with poached apples makes for such a winning breakfast.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email me

Hi everyone you can email me at oneofagrind{at}gmail{dot}com

Subscirbe

I heart FeedBurner

Categories

Flickr Photos

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner